Alexa Elected to Phi Beta Kappa | Le Cyr Consulting Skip to main content

Congratulations, Alexa for being elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most respected honor society in America!

UCLA’s review is based on:

✅academic program rigor

✅challenging upper-division courses outside of major

✅demonstrated at least an intermediate competence level in a second language beyond your native language.

Phi Beta Kappa’s first chapter was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. The second chapter was started in 1780 at Yale, and the third at Harvard in 1781. Since that time, Phi Beta Kappa chapters have been organized at the leading U.S. universities. Only about 10 percent of all colleges and universities have been chosen to award Phi Beta Kappa.

🏆Phi Beta Kappa members have led the way in virtually every calling of American life. PBKs include Jeff Bezos, founder of (Princeton 1986); Glenn Close, actor (William and Mary 1974); Kerry Washington, actor and activist (George Washington 1998); Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook (Harvard 1992); Peyton Manning, NFL quarterback (Tennessee 1997); Viet Thanh Nguyen, professor and novelist (UC Berkeley 1992); and Amanda Gorman, poet (Harvard 2020).

🏆Seventeen U.S. presidents have been members, including George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton.
🏆Forty-two U.S. Supreme Court justices have been members, starting with John Marshall, the first Chief Justice of the United States. Additional Supreme Court Justices who are members of Phi Beta Kappa include Chief Justice John Roberts and Justices Samuel Alito, Stephen Breyer, Neil Gorsuch, Elena Kagan, Sonia Sotomayor, Amy Coney Barrett, and the late Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

🏆Phi Beta Kappa also includes nearly 150 Nobel laureates. Here are a few of them: Carol W. Greider, Johns Hopkins (Medicine 2009); poet Seamus Heaney, Harvard (Literature 1995); John F. Nash, Jr., Princeton (Economics 1994); Glen T. Seaborg, UCLA (Chemistry 1951); Ralph Bunche, UCLA (Peace 1950); Donald J. Cram, UCLA (Chemistry 1987); Andrea M. Ghez, UCLA (Physics 2020); Guido Imbens, Stanford [and UCLA, 1997-2001] (Economics 2021), and UCLA alumnus Ardem Patapoutian, Scripps Research Institute (Physiology or Medicine 2021).


Leave a Reply